BYU NIRSA 2020 National Champions

BYU NIRSA 2020 National Champions

The West Coast Soccer Association would like to congratulate BYU on capturing the 2020 NIRSA National Champsionship in Austin Texas.  

Men’s soccer was established as club sport at BYU in 1963 but has only ever competed in the NCAA from 1979-1987, although it was a half-hearted effort from the school, and little funding was available to the team.

Up until the 2003 season, the Cougars dominated club soccer, with National Titles in 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, and 2001. At one point, BYU had a 30-match win streak in the club playoffs, winning five straight national championships during that time. BYU has dominated their conference and region since joining again in Fall 2017, as previously mentioned, having only one loss and one draw in the national tournament and just one draw in conference in three seasons.

BYU decided to move to the PDL in 2003 The PDL was the fourth division of professional soccer in the United States, and created more of a challenge for the program with the improved quality of competition. With the university uninterested in creating a Division I opportunity for the men’s soccer team, the program made the decision to jump to semi-pro soccer. BYU was the first university to ever make this jump as a franchised club team and it brought excellent opportunity and challenges to the team.

The program was competitive in this division and had several opportunities to participate in the US Open Cup, the domestic cup tournament competed for by teams from each level of professional soccer in the United States. They competed in the first round three times in 2006, 2007, and 2015. BYU also held friendlies with Real Salt Lake and the Real Monarchs during this time, hosting the teams at South Field in front of impressive crowds. The Cougars’ best season in the PDL was in 2007, when they were Northwest Division Champions. Currently two teams in Utah remain in this division, the Park City Red Wolves SC and Ogden City SC. BYU switched back to NIRSA in 2017 as the season lined up with the Fall semester and better suited students, whereas the PDL season was held in the summer. BYU has competed in the NIRSA Club Division since Fall of 2017.

Article comes from